Special Ed

I am a secondary ed major. So I have to take a special education class that helps me learn how to teach students with disabilities. One of the requirements for this class in volunteer work. Now that that is out of the way, I can tell my story.

Yesterday, me and Danielle got to do two activities on campus. One of them was called “Its a deaf deaf world”. Sounds kind of corny, but it was a lot more fun than I thought it would be. The program was actually pretty well done and I got to see a glimpse into the life of a person with hearing loss. We got to interact with deaf people and people that are training to be interpreters.

The other event was wheelchair basketball. This was really fun because the OSU men and women varsity teams played the OSU wheelchair basketball team. Oh yea, the varsity teams were in wheel chairs too. Needless to say, the varsity team got destroyed and it was really fun to watch.

The coolest thing was that I had no idea that this stuff went on at OSU. I was kind of dreading the whole experience but I am actually really glad that I went. If it weren’t for the class I would have never seen Moses play wheelchair basketball in a Harry Potter T-shirt.

Thats a win in my book.

-Kyle

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment